Skip to content

Acknowledgements and support

Lung Flare Care was an initiative of the ResPTlab team, led by Associate Professor Christian Osadnik, Alethea Kavanagh and Ruben Hopmans from Monash University, Department of Physiotherapy.

Associate Professor Christian Osadnik

Alethea Kavanagh

Ruben Hopmans

The website was created as part of a project funded by a grant from Rebecca L Cooper Medical Research Foundation (PG2020792). We acknowledge the partnership support of Lung Foundation Australia and the contribution of many healthcare workers of Monash Health, Australia.

We wish to thank many people for their valuable contributions to guide the development of Lung Flare Care. Contributors included people affected by COPD, their carers and healthcare professionals involved in the care of people affected by COPD. Many international healthcare experts voluntarily contributed their time to determine consensus on website sections. Those who consented to having their names acknowledged are listed below:

  • Prof. Jennifer Alison – The University of Sydney and Sydney Local Health District, Australia
  • A/Prof. Felicity Blackstock – Western Sydney University, Australia
  • Prof. Frits Franssen – CIRO, Horn, The Netherlands
  • Dr. Elena Gimeno-Santos – Pneumology Department of Hospital Clinic de Barcelona, ISGlobal, Spain
  • Dr. Rainer Glöckl – Schoen Klinik Berchtesgadener Land, Germany
  • Dr. Neil Greening – University of Leicester, UK
  • Dr. Samantha Harrison – School of Health and Life Sciences, Teesside University, Middlesbrough, UK
  • A/Prof. Kylie Hill – School of Physiotherapy and Exercise Science, Curtin University, Australia
  • A/Prof. Tania Janaudis-Ferreira – School of Physical and Occupational Therapy, McGill University, Canada
  • Dr. Agnieszka Lewko – Faculty of Health, Social Care and Education. Kingston University and St. George’s University of London, UK
  • Prof. Alda Marques – Respiratory Research and Rehabilitation Laboratory, School of Health Sciences and Institute of Biomedicine, University of Aveiro, Portugal
  • A/Prof. Zoe McKeough – The University of Sydney, Australia
  • Dr. Claire Nolan – Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust, and Imperial College London, UK
  • Dr. Ana Oliveira – School of Rehabilitation Sciences Faculty of Health Sciences, McMaster University, Canada
  • Prof. Fabio Pitta – State University of Londrina, Brazil
  • Prof. Milo Puhan – University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • Prof. Carolyn Rochester – Yale University School of Medicine, and VA Connecticut Healthcare System, USA
  • Prof. Michael Steiner – University of Leicester, UK
  • Dr. Clarice Tang – Western Sydney University, Australia
  • Dr. Irene Torres-Sãnchez – Physical Therapy Department, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Granada, Spain
  • Prof. Thierry Troosters – Department of Rehabilitation Sciences, KU Leuven, Belgium
  • Prof. Ioannis Vogiatzis – Northumbria University, Newcastle, UK